Publishing mistakes I made this year

Some do’s and don’ts for self-publishers from Jean M. Cogdells’ blog.

First, let me say my mistakes were expensive.

crap-1076822_640Now that I’ve got that off my chest I’ll try to share something constructive.

construction

  • I rushed the process.

Those who know me, stop snickering. I’ll admit patience is a problem for me sometimes. But after working on the same project over and over and over and over until I was sick of it and ready to put that baby to bed. I ended up submitting it three times due to errors found in the proof copy.

  • I didn’t understand the IngramSpark process before I started.

That turned out to be a very costly mistake. They use different templates than Createspace and well, everything is different. I’d read it was the easiest and cheapest self-publishing platform to use and it was.

So if you are looking for a step by step way to get a book self-published with little cost Createspace is the way to go.

View original post 310 more words

Leave a Reply

