The Danger of a Single Story

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The Danger of a Single Story.

I was so taken by this talk. It is sometimes way too easy to fall into the trap of viewing other people or cultures in a stereotypical way – through the story we have grown up with, the one we have absorbed, the story that has been shown to us over and over again.

 She makes a good point in the talk when she says that ‘the problem with stereotyping is not that it’s untrue but that it’s incomplete.’

One thought on “The Danger of a Single Story

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I watched it all the way through even though I have a list of things I am supposed to do today. I am so glad that I stopped to watch. It just proves that all writers come from the same place.
    So glad I found your blog

    Di

Leave a Reply

