a history of lovers

Beautiful poem, enjoy.

the medicine wars

For ten thousand years my bones
have ached and swayed along
to the thunderclap of your heartbeat
like water under the spell of the moon.
I remember each gentle movement
of the striking stick in the woods
reminding me to fulfill this purpose.
I remember the glowing promise of love’s preservation dance in your eyes.
Let the longest burning constellations
and the morning stars at dawn
witness these ceremonies of desire,
carry the burden of love in their light,
and tell this story to the unborn skies.
One day I will remember where to find
grandmother’s stone — moon rock,
and return the water to your spell.
I will howl, I will howl, I will howl.

View original post

One thought on “a history of lovers

Leave a Reply

